Birthday boy 2

My son had his own 5th birthday party and luckily it wasn’t another Lightning Mcqueen cake on the menu, although that had been mentioned. The favorite character now is Jake and the Nevernever land pirates, so that was my task. I asked what kind of taste he wanted and said apple! Slightly unusual, but you got to give it a try.

IMG_6362

I made a carrot cake but substituting carrots with apples. It was actually very nice, though I tried it with butter instead of oil and I think oil would be better in accordance with a normal carrot cake recipe. The filling was raspberry jam and mango, apple cream cheese frosting. As the cake was very dense, I made it more moist with apple juice.

IMG_6363

Leave a Reply

