Autumn cake for 90th birthday

My dear grandmother celebrated her 90th birthday this October at the time when we were enjoying the most wonderful autumn colours around us. So I wanted to reflect that in my cake.

I was inspired by the red, yellow and orange colours both inside and outside.

Image

I made a carrot cake, or actually two as the first one didn’t rise properly. The filling was apple mousse, the first time I tried that as a filling, and white chocolate mousse. The apple filling was made with Turkish yoghurt and turned out quite yummy.

The decorations were made of marzipan and sugarpaste and I used wonderful metallic powder to get the shine on the autumn leaves surrounding the cake.

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

